We make Tap AAC, which is not free: it is free for 30 days, then $29.99 once. Every app below that costs nothing is one we don’t make. Facts come from each app’s store listing or website, checked on October 30, 2026; free apps can start charging, so check before you rely on one.
Free, with nothing to buy
| App | Talks with | Runs on | Without internet |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weave Chat AAC | Pictures1 | Android, iPhone, iPad and Kindle2 | Not stated by its maker |
| Look to Speak | Phrases chosen with the eyes3 | Android4 | Not stated; Google says its data “never leaves the device” |
| Vocable AAC | Phrases and typing, with head tracking5 | Android 7 or later; also iPhone and iPad67 | Not stated by its maker |
| TypingTalk AAC | Typing8 | Android, iPhone and iPad9 | Your choice of offline voices or more natural internet voices |
| Twinkl Symbols | Pictures and writing with symbols10 | Android, iPhone and iPad11 | Its text to speech “works fully offline” |
- Weave Chat AAC is “free and always will be”, on Android, Apple devices and Kindle. You create an account to start; its paid parts are optional web tools for editing and sharing boards from a computer.212
- Look to Speak, from Google, is for choosing phrases with the eyes, and has no in-app purchases.3
- Vocable AAC is free and open source, with head tracking on phones that support ARCore.65
- TypingTalk AAC is a free typing app, with offline or internet voices.8
- Twinkl Symbols is “currently offered to you for free use”: free today, with no promise about later.10
A free version, with paid extras
| App | Talks with | Free without paying | Price (US) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Speech Assistant AAC | Typing and phrase buttons13 | Yes: the basic version | Basic version free; extra features $10.99 once on Google Play ($24.99 on the App Store)14 |
| Spoken | Typing with word prediction15 | Yes: speaking is always free; saved phrases and the lifelike voices are Premium1617 | Free to speak; Premium $12.99 a month, $99 a year or $249 for life on Spoken’s website. Store prices differ: its in-app purchases on Google Play run $6.49 to $249.99 |
| Cboard | Pictures18 | Yes, with fewer features, and a 15-day free trial of the rest1920 | Free version; a monthly or yearly plan for everything (in-app purchases $8.00 to $79.00 on Google Play) |
| CommBoards AAC | Pictures21 | Yes: the starter boards | Starter boards free; Premium in-app $9.99 to $119.99, with a 7-day free trial |
| AAC Speech & Communication (CM Games) | Pictures22 | Yes, with up to 3 boards of your own | Free with up to 3 boards of your own; Premium $7.99 once |
What the free versions leave out, in the makers’ own words:
- Spoken: speaking is free “whether you’ve upgraded to Premium or not”; saved phrases, the lifelike voices and prediction that learns from you are Premium.1617
- Cboard: the subscription adds online voices, voice recordings on buttons, sharing and publishing boards, and exporting them.20 Cboard “was previously free for almost six years”, its developer wrote on Google Play in 2023.19
- Speech Assistant AAC: “The basic version of the app is free”, and the extra features are one payment.13
- CommBoards: “Starter boards are free”, and Premium is monthly or yearly.21
- CM Games’ AAC Speech & Communication: you can make up to 3 boards of your own for free; Premium is one payment.22
Free to download, then a trial
These download for free, but after a trial most of the app needs paying for:
| App | Free without paying | Price (US) |
|---|---|---|
| Tap AAC (ours) | A 30-day trial with everything; then it asks to be unlocked23 | Free for 30 days, then $29.99 once |
| Avaz AAC | A 14-day trial; when it ends, pictures and audio go until you buy24 | US Google Play listing: a 14-day trial, then in-app purchases of $1.99 to $299.99 (it names monthly, yearly and lifetime plans, not their prices). Avaz’s help centre lists $9.99 a month, $99.99 a year or $199.99 for life, with different prices by region25 |
| CoughDrop | A two-month trial; an account is needed2627 | $9 a month or $295 for life, after a free two-month trial |
| Otsimo AAC | A 14-day trial28 | Free download; in-app purchases $5.49 to $189.99; 14-day free trial |
A trial is still useful: a month of real use tells you more than any list. Plan it: pick three everyday moments, model in them every day, and keep notes (our guide to choosing an AAC app has a fair-trial plan).
Free help that isn’t an app
- Paper boards. A printed board needs no tablet, no charging and no internet, and works as the backup to any app. Our free printable boards come as US Letter and A4 PDFs, and the free board maker makes your own in a browser.
- Device loans. In the US, every state and territory has an Assistive Technology Act program, and their directory lists device loan and demonstration services, so you may be able to borrow a device before you buy one.29
- Funding. Payers’ coverage of tablets and apps varies; a speech-language pathologist can help.30 See how to get an AAC device.
Before you build on a free app
- Can you back up the person’s pages, and restore them on another tablet?
- Does it need an account? Who owns the account, and what happens if the app closes?
- Does it work with no internet? (See offline AAC apps.)
- When was it last updated? An app nobody updates may stop working on newer tablets.
More help choosing
- AAC apps without a subscriptionApps you pay for once, what a subscription costs over three years, and what happens when you stop paying.
- AAC apps for Android comparedWhat runs on Android, what it costs, whether it works offline, and who each app suits.
- Offline AAC appsApps that talk with no internet, the four kinds of “offline”, and a five-minute test.
- Free printable AAC boardsCore words, yes and no, the hospital, adults, the alphabet, as US Letter and A4 PDFs.
- Free AAC board makerMake your own board in the browser and print it, with no account.
Sources
Read on October 30, 2026. Google Play listings are named by app ID (the “id=” in their web address).
- Google Play. Weave Chat AAC listing (com.weavechat.weavechat). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Weave Chat. Weave Chat AAC. The maker’s website. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. Look to Speak listing (com.androidexperiments.looktospeak). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Google. Look to Speak (The Keyword blog). Google’s announcement, December 8, 2020. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. Vocable AAC listing (com.willowtree.vocable). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- WillowTree. Vocable. The maker’s website. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Apple App Store. Vocable AAC. Price, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. TypingTalk AAC Text-to-Speech listing (com.miyanour.speechassist). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Apple App Store. TypingTalk AAC. Price, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. Twinkl Symbols listing (co.uk.twinkl.symbolwriter). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Apple App Store. Twinkl Symbols. Price, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Weave Chat. Weave Chat Connect. The maker’s page on its paid web tools. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. Speech Assistant AAC listing (nl.asoft.speechassistant). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Apple App Store. Speech Assistant AAC. Price, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. Spoken – Tap to Talk AAC listing (com.spoken.app). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Spoken. Does Spoken cost anything?. The maker’s help page. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Spoken. Spoken Premium vs. free. The maker’s help page. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Cboard. Cboard: free AAC web application. The maker’s website. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. Cboard AAC listing (com.unicef.cboard). In-app purchases, last update, listing text and the developer’s reply about the paid plan (November 3, 2023), United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Cboard. The app’s English text, in its published source code (en-US.json). The list of subscription features and the offline messages. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. CommBoards AAC listing (com.shmoontz.commboards.lite). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. AAC Speech & Communication, by CM Games listing (com.cm.aac). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. Tap AAC listing (com.tapaac.app). Price, trial and listing text, checked October 30, 2026.
- Avaz. Pricing of the Avaz AAC app (help centre). The maker’s help page. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. Avaz AAC listing (com.avazapp.international.lite). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- CoughDrop. How much does CoughDrop cost?. The maker’s help page, updated March 19, 2024. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. CoughDrop AAC listing (com.mycoughdrop.coughdrop). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- Google Play. Otsimo AAC listing (com.otsimo.aac). Price, in-app purchases, last update and listing text, United States, checked October 30, 2026.
- National Assistive Technology Act Technical Assistance and Training (AT3) Center. AT Act Programs (directory of state and territory programs). Directory of device loan and demonstration programs. Accessed October 30, 2026.
- American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. Augmentative and Alternative Communication (Practice Portal). Professional guidance for speech-language pathologists. Accessed October 30, 2026.
Core word board
Yes and no board
Choice boards
Alphabet board