More than half of these apps let a person talk without paying
Fourteen of the 40 are free to use in full, and another 9 speak for free and charge for extras such as your own photos, more pictures or better voices. That is 23 of 40 that a family can start with today at no cost. The most-rated of the free ones, Look to Speak, Leeloo AAC and Weave Chat AAC, have more ratings than most of the paid apps. The table below marks every one.
The big clinical apps are the expensive end. Five cost $200 or more to own: Proloquo2Go, by far the most-rated AAC app, at $249.99, and LAMP Words For Life at $299.99, Speak for Yourself at $299.99, TouchChat at $299.99 and CoughDrop at $294.99. The typical one-time price among the apps that sell one is $179.99.
Prices move: since our first check, Proloquo2Go went from $124.99 to $249.99 and Proloquo4Text went from $59.99 to $119.99 in the App Store: on October 18 they were half price. What the higher prices mostly buy is a large, carefully organized vocabulary and the training and support around it. Whether that is worth it depends on the person, which is a question for a speech-language pathologist, not for a price chart.
- LAMP Words For Life
- Speak for Yourself
- TouchChat
- CoughDrop
- Proloquo2Go
- Avaz AAC
- TalkTablet PRO
- Visual Choices AAC
- Predictable
- Spoken
- Proloquo4Text
- TippyTalk
- TD Snap
- CommBoards
- Proloquo
- Talkie
- Autism Kids: Voice & Routines
- Otsimo AAC
- Speech Assistant AAC
- Visuals2Go
- SymboTalk
Not shown: the 14 apps that are free to use in full, and Cboard, Expressia, Niki Talk, Pictalk and TalkinPictures, whose listings don’t say what the purchases unlock. Prices are the lowest in either US store. Add-ons that the app works without (extra voices, symbol sets, cloud backup, training) are left out.
Show the numbers as a table
| App | Pay once | A year of subscription |
|---|---|---|
| LAMP Words For Life | $299.99 | – |
| Speak for Yourself | $299.99 | – |
| TouchChat | $299.99 | – |
| CoughDrop | $294.99 | – |
| Proloquo2Go | $249.99 | – |
| Avaz AAC | $199.99 | $99.99 |
| TalkTablet PRO | $199.99 | – |
| Visual Choices AAC | $179.99 | $59.99 |
| Predictable | $159.99 | – |
| Spoken | $124.99 | – |
| Proloquo4Text | $119.99 | – |
| TippyTalk | – | $119.99 |
| TD Snap | – | $119.88 |
| CommBoards | $99.99 | $79.99 |
| Proloquo | – | $99.99 |
| Talkie | – | $69.99 |
| Autism Kids: Voice & Routines | – | $49.99 |
| Otsimo AAC | – | $35.90 |
| Speech Assistant AAC | $10.99 | – |
| Visuals2Go | $9.99 | – |
| SymboTalk | $0.99 | – |
The apps you hear about first are iPad apps; on Android the choice is 30
Proloquo2Go, TD Snap, TouchChat, LAMP Words For Life and Speak for Yourself, the apps a family is most likely to hear about from a school or clinic, are all iPhone and iPad only: none has a version in the US Google Play store. They are five of the 10 apps on the list that are App Store only.
That makes the device and the app one decision. If an evaluation points to one of these apps, it comes with an iPad. If the family already has an Android tablet, the choice is the 30 apps on Google Play, including Speech Assistant AAC, Autism Kids: Voice & Routines, Look to Speak and Leeloo AAC, the most-rated there.
22 in both stores
- Speech Assistant AAC
- Autism Kids: Voice & Routines
- Visuals2Go
- Leeloo AAC
- CommBoards
- Weave Chat AAC
- Avaz AAC
- Spoken
- Niki Talk
- Twinkl Symbols
- Expressia
- Talkie
- Predictable
- CoughDrop
- TypingTalk AAC
- Visual Choices AAC
- Pictalk
- Alexicom AAC
- TalkTablet PRO
- Otsimo AAC
- Vocable AAC
- TippyTalk
10 on the App Store only (iPhone and iPad)
- Proloquo2Go
- Proloquo4Text
- TD Snap
- Speak for Yourself
- Speak My Words
- Proloquo
- TouchChat
- LetMeTalk
- ChatterBoards AAC
- LAMP Words For Life
8 on Google Play only (Android)
- Look to Speak
- SymboTalk
- Cboard
- TalkinPictures
- Aac Talking Tabs
- Talking Buttons
- PictoTalk
- Articuloud
Show the numbers as a table
| Where it is | Apps | Of the ten most-rated |
|---|---|---|
| Both stores | 22 | 6 |
| App Store only | 10 | 3 |
| Google Play only | 8 | 1 |
10 apps sell a subscription; ask what happens to the words if you stop paying
Ten of the 40 sell full use by subscription, at $35.90 to $119.99 a year. Four of them also sell a one-time or “lifetime” unlock, priced at one to three years of the subscription; six (Autism Kids: Voice & Routines, Otsimo AAC, Proloquo, Talkie, TD Snap and TippyTalk) offer no way to pay once.
For most apps a lapsed subscription is an inconvenience. For an AAC app it can mean the person loses words they use every day, or the pages someone spent months building. The listings rarely say what happens, so ask before you start: does the app keep working, can you export the pages, and in what format?
“Pay once or subscribe”: the app sells both a subscription and a one-time (lifetime) unlock. Optional add-ons are not counted, so an app that sells a yearly cloud backup but no subscription for the app itself is “Pay once”.
Show the numbers as a table
| How you pay | Apps | Which |
|---|---|---|
| Free to use in full | 14 | Aac Talking Tabs, Alexicom AAC, Articuloud, ChatterBoards AAC, Leeloo AAC, LetMeTalk, Look to Speak, PictoTalk, Speak My Words, Talking Buttons, Twinkl Symbols, TypingTalk AAC, Vocable AAC, Weave Chat AAC |
| Pay once | 11 | CoughDrop, LAMP Words For Life, Predictable, Proloquo2Go, Proloquo4Text, Speak for Yourself, Speech Assistant AAC, SymboTalk, TalkTablet PRO, TouchChat, Visuals2Go |
| Pay once or subscribe | 4 | Avaz AAC, CommBoards, Spoken, Visual Choices AAC |
| Subscription only | 6 | Autism Kids: Voice & Routines, Otsimo AAC, Proloquo, Talkie, TD Snap, TippyTalk |
| Listing doesn’t say | 5 | Cboard, Expressia, Niki Talk, Pictalk, TalkinPictures |
Most are maintained; the ones left behind are mostly free
Of the 40 apps, 32 were updated in the last year. Eight haven’t been updated in more than two years: PictoTalk (January 2016), LetMeTalk (August 2018), TalkinPictures (November 2019), ChatterBoards AAC (November 2020), Alexicom AAC (June 2021), Leeloo AAC (July 2023), SymboTalk (October 2023) and Aac Talking Tabs (November 2023). Six of those eight are free apps, which is the trade-off behind “free”: nobody may be paid to keep it working.
An app that isn’t updated can stop working after a system update on the tablet. Check the date before you build a person’s vocabulary in it, and prefer an app whose pages you can export.
One dot per app, at its last update in either store. PictoTalk sits at the left edge: older than ten years.
Show the numbers as a table
| App | Last updated |
|---|---|
| PictoTalk | January 2016 |
| LetMeTalk | August 2018 |
| TalkinPictures | November 2019 |
| ChatterBoards AAC | November 2020 |
| Alexicom AAC | June 2021 |
| Leeloo AAC | July 2023 |
| SymboTalk | October 2023 |
| Aac Talking Tabs | November 2023 |
| Speak My Words | December 2025 |
| CoughDrop | May 2026 |
| Avaz AAC | June 2026 |
| Articuloud | July 2026 |
| Speak for Yourself | July 2026 |
| Otsimo AAC | August 2026 |
| Proloquo | August 2026 |
| Vocable AAC | September 2026 |
| Talkie | September 2026 |
| Predictable | September 2026 |
| TippyTalk | September 2026 |
| Spoken | September 2026 |
| CommBoards | October 2026 |
| Expressia | October 2026 |
| Proloquo2Go | October 2026 |
| Proloquo4Text | October 2026 |
| TD Snap | October 2026 |
| Twinkl Symbols | October 2026 |
| Look to Speak | October 2026 |
| Cboard | October 2026 |
| LAMP Words For Life | October 2026 |
| TouchChat | October 2026 |
| Weave Chat AAC | October 2026 |
| Speech Assistant AAC | October 2026 |
| TypingTalk AAC | October 2026 |
| Autism Kids: Voice & Routines | October 2026 |
| Pictalk | October 2026 |
| TalkTablet PRO | October 2026 |
| Visual Choices AAC | October 2026 |
| Niki Talk | October 2026 |
| Visuals2Go | October 2026 |
| Talking Buttons | October 2026 |
Every app, with its price and where it runs
Sort by any column, or narrow the list to the apps that run on your device. This list is not a ranking: we didn’t test the apps, and ratings favor apps that have been around longest.
| App | iPhone, iPad | Android | Pay once | Per year | How you pay | Last update | Ratings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aac Talking TabsGoogle Play | No | Yes | Free | – | Free | Nov 2023 | 158 Android |
| Alexicom AACApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | Free | – | Free | Jun 2021 | 14 iOS 122 Android |
| ArticuloudGoogle Play | No | Yes | Free | – | FreeOptional translation purchase | Jul 2026 | 52 Android |
| Autism Kids: Voice & RoutinesApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | – | $49.99 | SubscriptionSpeaks for freePremium unlocks the full picture library; also $6.99 a month | Oct 2026 | 1 iOS 1,420 Android |
| Avaz AACApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | $199.99 | $99.99 | Once or yearly14-day trial; prices from the App Store (Google Play's US listing shows only a range, $1.99 to $299.99); a separate Lifetime Edition listing is $299.99 | Jun 2026 | 316 iOS 431 Android |
| CboardGoogle Play | No | Yes | – | – | Not statedSpeaks for freeDescribes itself as free; Google Play shows purchases from $8 to $79 without saying what they are | Oct 2026 | 366 Android |
| ChatterBoards AACApp Store | Yes | No | Free | – | Free | Nov 2020 | 98 iOS |
| CommBoardsApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | $99.99 | $79.99 | Once or yearlySpeaks for freeStarter boards free; Premium adds your own photos and boards | Oct 2026 | 96 iOS 770 Android |
| CoughDropApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | $294.99 | – | Pay onceCommunicator access, bought in the iPhone and iPad app; the Google Play listing sells nothing | May 2026 | 63 iOS 182 Android |
| ExpressiaApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | – | – | Not statedSpeaks for freePRO ($9.99) and Essential ($5.99) purchases; the listing doesn't say if they renew | Oct 2026 | 0 iOS 273 Android |
| LAMP Words For LifeApp Store | Yes | No | $299.99 | – | Pay onceFree 30-day trial edition | Oct 2026 | 94 iOS |
| Leeloo AACApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | Free | – | FreeOptional premium card packs: $59.99 a year or $149 once | Jul 2023 | 80 iOS 928 Android |
| LetMeTalkApp Store | Yes | No | Free | – | Free | Aug 2018 | 102 iOS |
| Look to SpeakGoogle Play | No | Yes | Free | – | Free | Oct 2026 | 1,124 Android |
| Niki TalkApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | – | – | Not statedComes with a demo album; your own boards need a Niki Talk Designer subscription, price not in the listing | Oct 2026 | 16 iOS 312 Android |
| Otsimo AACApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | – | $35.90 | Subscription14-day trial; also $5.49 a month | Aug 2026 | 51 iOS 72 Android |
| PictalkApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | – | – | Not statedSpeaks for freePay what you want: purchases from $29.99 to $294.99 on Google Play | Oct 2026 | 5 iOS 137 Android |
| PictoTalkGoogle Play | No | Yes | Free | – | Free | Jan 2016 | 56 Android |
| PredictableApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | $159.99 | – | Pay once | Sep 2026 | 203 iOS 66 Android |
| ProloquoApp Store | Yes | No | – | $99.99 | Subscription | Aug 2026 | 148 iOS |
| Proloquo2GoApp Store | Yes | No | $249.99 | – | Pay onceWas $124.99 in an October sale on Oct 18; optional Gateway vocabulary $149.99 | Oct 2026 | 12,252 iOS |
| Proloquo4TextApp Store | Yes | No | $119.99 | – | Pay onceWas $59.99 in an October sale on Oct 18 | Oct 2026 | 935 iOS |
| Speak for YourselfApp Store | Yes | No | $299.99 | – | Pay onceOptional voices $24.99 each; free 30-day trial edition (SFY-Lite) | Jul 2026 | 408 iOS |
| Speak My WordsApp Store | Yes | No | Free | – | FreeAds; $1.99 removes them | Dec 2025 | 151 iOS |
| Speech Assistant AACApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | $10.99 | – | Pay onceSpeaks for freeFree on Google Play, $10.99 once for the extra features; $24.99 on the App Store | Oct 2026 | 104 iOS 3,054 Android |
| SpokenApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | $124.99 | – | Once or yearlySpeaks for freeSpeaking is free; $124.99 is the App Store's lowest Premium Lifetime purchase (it also lists $249.00); Spoken's website says $249 for life, $12.99 a month or $99 a year | Sep 2026 | 160 iOS 336 Android |
| SymboTalkGoogle Play | No | Yes | $0.99 | – | Pay onceSpeech is a paid feature ($0.99) | Oct 2023 | 452 Android |
| TalkieApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | – | $69.99 | SubscriptionSpeaks for freeFree with limits; PRO adds AI voices, unlimited tiles and backup | Sep 2026 | 9 iOS 214 Android |
| Talking ButtonsGoogle Play | No | Yes | Free | – | Free | Oct 2026 | 90 Android |
| TalkinPicturesGoogle Play | No | Yes | – | – | Not statedFree to try; purchases from $3.99 to $24.99 | Nov 2019 | 237 Android |
| TalkTablet PROApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | $199.99 | – | Pay once | Oct 2026 | 8 iOS 100 Android |
| TD SnapApp Store | Yes | No | – | $119.88 | SubscriptionSpeech needs the $9.99 monthly upgrade after a one-month trial; page sets cost extra each month | Oct 2026 | 870 iOS |
| TippyTalkApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | – | $119.99 | SubscriptionPer TippyTalker licence; also $11.99 a month | Sep 2026 | 11 iOS 54 Android |
| TouchChatApp Store | Yes | No | $299.99 | – | Pay onceWith WordPower; TouchChat HD without it is $149.99; free 30-day trial edition | Oct 2026 | 134 iOS |
| Twinkl SymbolsApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | Free | – | Free | Oct 2026 | 310 iOS 207 Android |
| TypingTalk AACApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | Free | – | FreeOptional donations | Oct 2026 | 20 iOS 171 Android |
| Visual Choices AACApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | $179.99 | $59.99 | Once or yearly | Oct 2026 | 168 iOS 14 Android |
| Visuals2GoApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | $9.99 | – | Pay onceSpeaks for freeA $59.99 yearly plan adds the online picture library | Oct 2026 | 1,364 iOS 0 Android |
| Vocable AACApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | Free | – | Free | Sep 2026 | 61 iOS 37 Android |
| Weave Chat AACApp Store · Google Play | Yes | Yes | Free | – | Free | Oct 2026 | 546 iOS 269 Android |
“iOS” ratings are US App Store ratings; “Android” ratings are Google Play ratings from every country, as Google Play shows them. A dash means the app doesn’t sell that way.
How we made the list
On October 30, 2026 we searched the US App Store and US Google Play in English with 155 search terms, then followed every AAC app’s “similar apps” and developer pages, and searched each store for every AAC app found in the other. Of the 14,652 apps that turned up, we read each listing that mentions an AAC word and kept the 796 listings whose main job is giving someone who can’t rely on speech a way to talk; speech therapy practice, learning games, visual schedules and general text-to-speech readers are out.
Most of those listings have no ratings at all, so the guide counts the apps people use: a listing with at least 50 ratings in either store. That is 55 listings, which fold into 40 apps once each app’s two stores and its lite, trial, lifetime, school and language editions count as one. For each app we read the in-app purchases and the description to find what unlocks full use, and noted it in the table.
What this doesn’t measure
- Whether an app is good, or right for a person. We read listings; we didn’t install or test anything.
- How many people use each app. Ratings are the only number both stores show, and they favor older apps.
- What families actually pay: school licences, insurance, funding programs and sales are not counted. October is AAC Awareness Month, when some developers cut prices.
- Dedicated speech devices, and AAC software for Windows, the web or other countries’ stores.
Prices, privacy and “no subscription” claims are as the developers wrote them in their listings.
Who made this
We are LMNOP LABS, a small company that makes Tap AAC, an AAC app for Android tablets and phones (free for 30 days, then $29.99 once). Tap AAC is not on the list: it had fewer than 50 ratings on October 30, 2026. That is a conflict of interest, so we kept to what the store listings say, publish every row, and link each app to its source. If you find a mistake, or an app with 50+ ratings that we missed, email support@lmnoplabs.fun and we’ll fix it in the next edition.
Next: how to choose an AAC app walks through the questions to ask in a trial, and what Tap AAC does if you’re comparing.
Use the data
One row per app: stores, price for full use (once and per year), how you pay, the download price and the highest single purchase in each store, last update, year first listed, ratings, App Store privacy label and store links. Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0: credit “Tap AAC, AAC App Price Guide” and link here. We plan to update the guide every three months.
Tap AAC (LMNOP LABS LLC). AAC App Price Guide 2026. Data collected October 30, 2026; 40 apps. https://tapaac.com/aac-app-prices/